Logo du Forum Pédagogique

La plateforme de formation entre pairs du réseau mlfmonde


Acquiring French in an English Context & Keeping the Minority Language Learning Alive during Remote Learning

Formation 1h

 Limite d'inscription

Join Associate Professor, Chantal Mayer-Crittenden for a presentation and discussion on French as the Minority Language

ATTN: This session will be an hour and half in length. Both English and French will be incorporated. 

Please join us for a special session with Chantal Mayer-Crittenden Associate Professor at Laurentian University, Canada.

Chantal is an experienced speech and language pathologist specializing in bilingualism, primary language impairments (PLI) and non linguistic cognitive intervention. Chantal is also the host of The Parle Podcast, the podcast that talks about talking.

During this 1 1/2 hour session, we will review the typical and not so typical trajectory of the second language acquisition of a minority language. How does the acquisition of a minority language differ from that of a majority language? We will also examine some of the factors that may make it difficult for a child to learn and maintain a minority language based on evidence from the literature.

Strategies and tips will be provided to help educators support L2 learning in their students and their families.  A discussion period will allow for a conversation on the North American MLF context with regards to L2 learning.

Outcomes: By the end of this session, participants will be able to:

– Explain the difference between the acquisition of a minority and a majority language as an L2

– Name the key elements required for language acquisition

– Explain the difference between language learning and language acquisition

– Identify risk factors that may make the acquisition of an L2 more difficult 

– Explain how certain populations may find it more difficult than others to learn an L2

– Explore different strategies that can be used in the school or home setting to facilitate the acquisition and maintenance of a minority language

ellen.burdge@mlfmonde.org

Burdge Ellen

Mlf America

Pedagogical Advisor

rimrama@gmail.com

RIMA RAMADAN

LFLHN LIBAN
diya.wazen@glfl.edu.lb

Diya WAZEN

GLFL-Beyrouth
darine.bitar@lflhn.edu.lb

Darine Bitar

LFLHN
fmetens@faispdx.org

metens francoise

fais
vcurkovic@faispdx.org

véronique Curkovic

Fais
ccohen@faispdx.org

Catherine Cohen

FAIS Portland, OR
jerome.train@mlfmonde.org

Jérôme Train

Mlf America
clevy@dallasinternationalschool.org

Catherine Levy

DIS
mdangla@aischool.org

Monique DANGLA

Atlanta International School
julie.higounet@mlfmonde.org

julie Higounet

siège mlf
fcarlier@sdfrenchschool.org

francis carlier

San Diego French American School
fdides@yahoo.fr

pauline dides

international school of boston
fphilipp@dallasinternationalschool.org

Franck Philipp

Dallas International School
claire.perifel@lilaschool.com

claire Perifel

lilaschool
mathilde.colard@yahoo.fr

Mathilde Colard

Lycée International de Boston
sarah.yaakoby@northseattlefrenchschool.com

sarah yaakoby

North Seattle French School
cecilerolin@hotmail.com

cecile rolin

moanda
bbrouder@fasri.org

benedicte brouder

fasri
clarisse.loiseau@mlfmonde.org

Clarisse Loiseau

FASPS
fadwa.elouali@mlfmonde.org

fadwaa el ouali

lycée français internationl d'agadir
klebail@faispdx.org

Karine Lebail

FAIS
achin@isbos.org

Alexis Chin

International School of Boston
ayat.younes@lflhn.edu.lb

Ayat Younes

LFLHN
joanna.jeandeletoille@theecole.org

Joanna Jean-Delétoille

The Ecole
lbenadouda@fasri.org

Lamia BENADOUDA

Fasri
abderrafik.bennis@mlfmonde.org

ABDERRAFIK BENNIS

LFI DETROIT
fatima-zohra.zaki@mlfmonde.org

Fatima-zohra Zaki

LFIAD
cm2c.moanda@mlfmonde.org

Freddy Zolo Mayombo

EPC MOANDA
bsiran@faispdx.org

brigitte siran

fais
nadia.loukili@mlfmonde.org

Nadia LOUKILI

LFIAM
cbodet@isbos.org

Christine Bodet

Lycée International de Boston
celine.bourdales@northseattlefrenchschool.com

celine bourdales

NSFS
shannon.delafuente@lilaschool.com

Shannon de la Fuente

LILA
sonia.gmar@lilaschool.com

Sonia Gmar

Lycee International de Los Angeles
hmorrell@aischool.org

Hermine Morrell

Atlanta International School
Jennys@frenchamericansf.org

Jenny Sandelson

French American International School
ahmed.farouk@mlfmonde.org

Ahmed Farouk

Lfa
julie.chapeyron@mlfmonde.org

Julie Chapeyron

LFI Varna
sandy.gamal@mlfmonde.org

Sandy Gamal

LFA
mostafa.hattari@mlfmonde.org

Hattari Mostafa

André Malraux
mashouda.marimoutou@mlfmonde.org

Mashouda Marimoutou

Lycée international Balzac
pierre.roumegoux@mlfmonde.org

Pierre Roumegoux

Lycée guebre Mariam
viviane.camelato@mlfmonde.org

Viviane Camelato

Ecole franco-italienne Firenze (I)
oussama.aitmoussa@mlfmonde.org

OUSSAMA AIT MOUSSA

LYCEE LOUIS MASSIGNON
aboutrymoutonnet@tfs.ca

Aude Boutry-Moutonnet

TFS
roula.toutoungy@mlfmonde.org

Roula SABA

Lycée français International MLF de Bahrein
jeanfrancoismerckling@svintl.org

Jean-Francois Merckling

Silicon Valley International School
veroniquemerckling@istp.org

Veronique Merckling

Ecole Internationale de la Peninsule
mohamed.elbadri@mlfmonde.org

Mohamed El badri

Lycée lhobar
lve1.moanda@mlfmonde.org

Priscilla Kapili

EPC Moanda
alexandre.balet@mlfmonde.org

Alexandre Balet

FASPS
evoleau@eb.org

Elodie Voleau

Ecole bilingue de Berkeley
catherineb@frenchamericansf.org

Catherine boucher

French American SF
bcambon@eb.org

Benedicte Cambon ritter

École bilingue de berkeley
lve3.moanda@mlfmonde.org

Komla Mawuli AFIANOU

EPC Moanda
cbouton@aischool.org

Carine Bouton

AIS
rachel.loble@theecole.org

Rachel Loble

The Ecole
jponcet@faispdx.org

jerome poncet

French American international school
julies@frenchamericansf.org

Julie Strong

French American + International School San Francisco
moulay.kenzit-elalaoui@mlfmonde.org

Moulay abdellah KENZIT EL ALAOUI

louis massignon
nicolas.ory@laposte.net

Nicolas Ory

Lycée Français de Bahreïn
nordine.mebarki@mlfmonde.org

Nordine Mebarki

CIFS Sarajevo
angela.pascual@mlfmonde.org

Angela Pascual

LFP
jodoherty@tfs.ca

Julie O'Doherty

TFS-Junior School
daufinjeanne@gmail.com

Jeanne Daufin

LFI André Malraux Rabat
aferrand@tfs.ca

Alexandre Ferrand

TFS
gmarques@tfs.ca

Géraldine Marques

TFS
ccambolive@tfs.ca

Carole Cambolive

Toronto French School
imane.kojok@mlfmonde.org

Imane Kojok

LIJM(Lycée International Jean Mermoz )
eva.sancho@mlfmonde.org

Eva Sancho

Lycée Français de Castilla y León
annesophie.grosbost@gmail.com

Anne-Sophie GROSBOST

FASPS
serge.dumery@mlfmonde.org

Dumery Serge

Lycée International Jean Mermoz
dmarques@tfs.ca

Davy Marques

Toronto French School
daniel.lebron@mlfmonde.org

Daniel Lebron

Lycée Français d'Agadir
anna.robelin@mlfmonde.org

ANNA ROBELIN

LYCEE GUEBRE MARIAM
nelly.mourad@lflni.edu.lb

Nelly Mourad

LFLNI
rana.saleh@mlfmonde.org

Rana ZHIVAKY

Lycée franco libanais
mehdi.yabir@mlfmonde.org

mehdi yabir

LFILM
mdugas@tfs.ca

Monique Dugas

TFS
sallonas@tfs.ca

Sylvie Allonas

TFS-L'école internationale du Canada
ldenys@cousteauschool.org

Lucile Denys

Cousteau school
aparis@fasri.org

Annie Paris

FASRI
dokphil@yahoo.fr

Koffi KPENOU

Cours Lumière

Informations

 Nombre de participants

83

 Places disponibles

17

 Langue

Anglais

 Cycle(s)

  • Cycle 1
  • Cycle 2
  • Cycle 3

 Domaine(s)

  • Arts
  • Langues
  • Lettres et sciences humaines
  • Sciences et technologie
  • Mathématiques
  • EPS
  • Éducation aux médias et à l'information
  • Éducation à la citoyenneté
  • Numérique
  • Documentation
  • IB
  • Personnel d'encadrement
  • Vie scolaire
  • Continuité pédagogique